Trustees and Advisory Panel

Lord Willetts

David Willetts is the President of the Resolution Foundation’s Advisory Council. He served as the Member of Parliament for Havant (1992-2015), as Minister for Universities and Science (2010-2014).

Sir Anthony Seldon

Author, political commentator & contemporary historian. Former Vice-Chancellor of Buckingham University and former Master of Wellington, UK.

Lord Skidelsky

Lord Skidelsky is Emeritus Professor of Political Economy at Warwick University. His three-volume biography of John Maynard Keynes 1883-1946: Economist, Philosopher, Statesman won five prizes and his book on the financial crisis – Keynes: The Return of the Master – was published in September 2010.

Elizabeth Wright

After FCO postings in China, Elizabeth Wright was Director of the Great Britain- China Centre, Head of the Asia and Pacific Region of the BBC World Service and on the SOAS Board of Trustees. She set up the China Policy Institute at Nottingham University.

Sir Vince Cable

Vince Cable is formerly Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills (2010-15). He was MP for Twickenham from 1997 and leader of the Liberal Democrats (2017-19). Author of The China Conundrum.

Dr Hermann Hauser

Hermann Hauser is an eminent science entrepreneur, co-Founder of Acorn Computers. In 1990 he helped to set up ARM. In 1997 he co-founded Amadeus Capital Partners. He is Vice-Chair of the European Innovation Council.

Professor Shirley Ze Yu

Shirley Ze Yu is the Director of the China- Africa Initiative at the Firoz Lalji Centre for Africa at the London School of Economics, and Asia fellow with the Ash Center of Harvard Kennedy School.

Professor Anthony J Saich

Anthony Saich is the Director of the Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation and Daewoo Professor of International Affairs, Harvard Kennedy School.

Zhang Lan

Client and Market Development Executive, China Desk at Clifford Chance LLP and author of the original China Insight Business Plan.

Professor Alan Barrell

Chairman, Cambridge Learning Gateway. Former Entrepreneur in Residence, Centre for Entrepreneurial Learning Judge Business School Cambridge University.

Emeritus Professor Chris Hamnett

Chris Hamnett joined King’s College, London, as Professor of Geography in 1995, after George Washington University, ANU, Oxford and Sciences Po. He is a leading British Expert on housing wealth and social polarisation.

Alja Kranjec

Head of Administration at Kensington Wade English Chinese Dual Language School, formerly Manager, The China Media Centre.

Professor G Q Max Lu

Professor Max Lu is the President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Surrey. He was Provost at the University of Queensland, Australia. He sits on the Prime Minister’s Council for Science and Technology.

Paul Smith

Paul Smith is a former president and CEO of CFA Institute. He is a member of the Honorary Advisor Panel of the Financial Reporting Council of Hong Kong and a Member of the Products Advisory Committee of the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission.

Professor Hugo de Burgh

Hugo de Burgh is Walt Disney Chair in Global Media at Tsinghua University. He is Founder Chairman of Kensington Wade Chinese English School and Founder, Director of the China Media Centre.

Sir Nicholas Young
Scrutiny Committee

Nicholas Young was chief executive of the British Red Cross. Originally a commercial lawyer with Freshfields he has had senior roles with several charities, including Cancer Research.

Paul Bowden
Scrutiny Committee

Paul Bowden is a partner in the Disputes Practice at Freshfields, leads the firm’s Human Rights Team and is Chairman of the National Justice Museum.

Mahnaz Malik
Scrutiny Committee

Mahnaz Malik is a barrister and arbitrator at Twenty Essex who specialises in representing governments and corporations in commercial and investment arbitration.